Today I officially started on my “Farmer’s Granddaughter” sampler quilt.  I looked over the templates, took some measurements, and decided that the triangle pieces could be made more easily if I just made squares and cut them in half diagonally.  I mean, that’s all a triangle is, right?  Yeah, it’s a great theory, but I’m not a good enough quilter yet to figure out the exact mathematical equations to make it work.  Because I tr2013-01-01 19.24.17ied.  And this is what I ended up with.

So, I started over, using the templates this time.  Here’s how I did it.

The center square (template# 1) is a 2 1/2″ x 2 1/2″ square.  I attached one each of the small triangles (template# 3) to either side of the center square to produce this:

2013-01-01 18.49.19

Admittedly, this is the one I made while I was trying to not use the templates.  The next time I did it, it looked much better.

After pressing the seams, the next step was two attach each of the red pieces (template# 2) to the top and th2013-01-01 19.20.55e bottom of the center section so that the angle follows through from the red down through the blue triangle.  You should have a nice straight edge along both long sides.  Press the seams.

To this, I attached the green triangles (template# 14) along the long sides, aligning the center of the triangle to the center of the block in progress.  Press the seams.

My finished block looked great and finished up at 6.5″ square and didn’t need squaring up, which just amazed me.  I’m really looking forward to doing the rest of these blocks and seeing how they turn out.

2013-01-01 19.24.28

