The Autumn Tints block is beautiful and beautifully easy to make.  It uses four 2″ squares to make a four patch and a 3 1/2″ square.  These two sewn together make 1/2 of the block.  Here’s how I did it.

I chose a creamy fabric with pale olive green and red holly sprigs, a dark olive green with a small floral print, and a dark orange with large leaf prints for2013-01-01 22.30.56 the three colors needed to make the four patch.  I cut two strips of the cream and one strip each of the green and orange, all 2×5″ long.  I laid the dark fabrics over the light fabric, right sides together, and chain stitched them, then pressed the seams toward the dark fabrics.

Next, I laid the two strip sets on top of each other, with dark fabric to light fabric, nesting the seams.  I squared up the end, then cut them in 2″ wide segments.  These were chain pieced and pressed, creating the two 4Patches needed for the block.

2013-01-01 22.31.45 2013-01-01 22.33.32 2013-01-01 22.35.42

It’s important to pay attention to the orientation of the 4 Patches, so that the oranges meet in the center when the block is complete2013-01-01 22.41.53d.  I laid the 3 1/2″ squares on top of the 4 Patches, chain stitched them, and pressed the seams.  Then, matching the center seams, nesting them together, I stitched the two halves together.  After pressing the seam, I had a completed Autumn Tints block.  This one took about 15 minutes to complete, mainly because I was stopping to take pictures along the way.

