It doesn’t happen often, but from time to time my husband will get a wild hair and bring me a bouquet.  My favorite consisted of half a dozen tiny pink roses that had been generously sprinkled with glitter.  They came in a tall, curvy, deep purple vase.  The flowers dried perfectly in the vase and stood on my shelf for literally years.  They were so pretty.  The leaves even dried kind of a purpley color.  Finally, though, I had to get rid of them.  They were a fantastic dust magnet.  Still, it was hard to throw them out.

This next quilt block is called Bouquet, and I choose to let it remind me flowers from my sweet husband.  Except this bouquet will never die!

When I first looked at the pattern, I thought it would be easier than it turned out to be.  The problem is the rhombus shapes have to go just so or the whole thing is off.  I had half the block put together and then had to pick it apart.  The key, I think, to assembling this block is to lay it all out first, make sure everything is right and then start assembly.  Ok, ok, so that’s the key to any block, but you know what I mean.

2013-01-22 11.56.37 When I looked t the block initially, I noticed that the top piece is essentially a square between the flower petals.  I couldn’t for the life of me figure out why the directions would be more complicated by making it two triangles sewn together.  So, thinking I knew better, I cut out a 2″ square instead of two 2″ triangles.  Was it a good decision?  Nope!  In fact, I ended up tossing it aside and replacing it with the called-for triangles.

I cannot stress enough how important it is to make sure the petals (rhombus) are laid out correctly.  2013-01-22 12.17.04If you don’t, it will look all skeewampus, like this.   When sewing the background triangles to the leaf pieces of the boquet, make sure to match the long sides. 

  1. Sew a background triangle to the outside edges of the two petal pieces.  Press the seams and set aside
  2. Place the short side of a background triangle to the top, inside edge of the two petal pieces and sew together.  Press the seams and set aside.
  3. Lining up along the long sides, sew a background triangle to the top edge of each of the leaf rhombus pieces.  Press the seams and set aside.
  4. Take the two mirror pieces and place them right sides together, taking care to m2013-01-22 12.42.29atch the seams, then sew them together.  Press the seam and set it aside.
  5. Going to the base of the block, sew together the background triangle with the brown basket piece, making a HST.  Press the seam.
  6. Sew a long rectangle background piece (I used the one on the bottom) to the newly created HST.  Press and set aside.
  7. Take the unattached rectangle, place it on top of the right side of the flower part of the block.  Sew together and press.
  8. With right sides together, sew the long rectangle/HST piece to the flower part of the block, and press the seam.2013-01-22 12.51.26  Your finished block should look like this.
