Oh my goodness!  This block really could not be any easier.  You use two templates, 3 fabrics, and have 7 seams.  It went together so quickly and was fun to assemble.  As usual, I thought I knew what fabrics I was going to use until I actually sat down to make it.  In fact, few of the blocks so far have used the fabrics I intended.  Some of them, if I had to do it again, would be different.  In fact, I may redo them.  We’ll see.

So, here’s how I made this block:

I took 4 charms, with two from each pattern2013-01-26 00.13.23.  Believe me when I tell you they’re more contrasting in person than they are in the photo.  I stacked them all on top of each other and, using template #18, I trimmed them down to size

 

 

2013-01-26 00.17.26

For the knot of bow, I used template# 7 to cut four green triangles.  I laid all the pieces out in a square with matching fabrics opposite each other.  Then I laid the green knot pieces face down on top of them.  I chain pieced them and then pressed all the seams, then laid everything back in its original position.

 

2013-01-26 00.29.59

After that, I laid right over left and sewed the top two pieces together, then the bottom two.  With the seams pressed so that they will nest nicely, I laid the top over the bottom and sewed the final seam.

After I was all done, I was wondering if there would be a different way to do this block that might be a little easier.  And while I haven’t tried it out yet, it occurs to me that you could cut four 3 1/2″ x 3 1/2″ squares of two contrasting fabrics.  Then cut four 2×2″ squares for the knot.  Lay the smaller squares on top of the larger ones and snowball one corner on each of the larger squares, then sew it together.  I don’t know that this would be easier, and I think there would be more waste than doing it with the templates.

With that said, I can see making a quilt with lots of bowtie blocks sashed in between each one.

 

