I had this post nearly completed and then I hit the wrong button.  ARGH!!!

(Deep Breath) (Starts Over)

2013-01-26 17.10.38

When I first looked at this block, I noticed that it uses only two fabrics and only one template.  A triangle.  I don’t know why, but I’m really not a fan of cutting out triangles.  I think it has to do with cutting off the little corners.  Who knows.  Anyway, I looked this over and decided instead of cutting a million little triangles, I would make…

A TUBE!!!

 

2013-01-26 13.19.41Since the template is 2″ on two of the sides, it make sense to me to take two strips, 2″ x WoF, place them right sides together, and then see 1/4″ seam on both sides.  Then I took a 4 1/2″ squaring up ruler with a diagonal on it and lined the diagonal line on the bottom seam with the point of the ruler about 1/4″ in from the edge.  I trimmed off that end bit and moved the ruler up to the top seam and cut.  This gave me my first HST.  I repeated this process down the length of the tube and ended up with all 16 of the HSTs I needed for the block, along with 8 extra.  Yep, saving those puppies for later.

2013-01-26 13.41.36When I was all done, just to check, I laid the template on top of one of the HSTs.  Good thing I did!  The HST was about 1/8 – 1/4″ bigger than I needed it to be.  All those points I didn’t want to trim off?  Yep, I got to do it anyway, along with a little sliver of fabric off the unsewn edge.  If I were to do this again, I think I’d cut my strips 1 7/8″ wide and see if that brings it in where it needs to be.  When I was done with that, I pressed all the seams to the dark side.  Which worked out well later on.

2013-01-26 16.28.14When I first looked at the layout, I thought it was really tricky and I was worried about messing it up.  Took me a LONG time to realize there actually is a method to this madness.  For the top row, working left to right, the dark half of the first HST points up and to the left, the second points down and to the left, the third points up and to the left, and the fourth points down and to the left.  The second row follows the same Up, Down, Up, Down layout except the darks point to the right.  Rows 3 and 4 are a repeat of rows 1 and 2, respectively.

And this is where I clicked the wrong button before, so, moving ever so cautiously, I shall use my mouse to insert a new photo and hope for the best.  Hmm… Maybe I’ll click the “Save Draft” button first!

2013-01-26 16.29.10WHEW!  Made it.  Ok, moving forward.  I had 4 columns of HSTs.  Working Left to Right, I laid the HSTs from column 2 face down on the HSTs of column 1, then did the same with the remaining columns. A number of them had matching diagonal seams and on those I was able to nest the seams together for easy piecing.  I chain stitched the Column 1-2 and set it aside, then repeated with column 3 – 4.  At this point, you can either press the seams open or press them in opposite directions so that the seams don’t get too bulky.

2013-01-26 16.46.39

Now I have 2 columns of 4 pairs each.  Starting from the top, I laid the first row on top of the second and the third on top of the fourth, taking care to match the seams.  At this point in the game, pins really are your best friends.  Pin the center seam, then chain stitch the lot.  Snip apart, press.

This left me with four quarter block pieces.  I just repeated the process above, laying top face down on bottom, matching the seams.  After a careful pressing, I laid the right side on top of the left side, stitched the last seam, and pressed.

Et voila!  The Broken Dishes Block.  Quick: How many pinwheels do you see?

2013-01-26 17.10.38

