Most of the time I can look at a block, look at it’s name and can see the connection.  This one, however, completely throws me for a loop.  Why it’s called what it is is beyond me.  Curiosity got the better of me and led me to wikipedia.  Did you know that the buckwheat plant, while once being grown for it’s grain-like seed, is actually more closely related to rhubarb?  It’s no longer widely cultivated in the US.  Well, even reading up on the plant didn’t help me figure out why this block is named what it is, but it kept me entertained for a minute.

2013-02-03 16.10.16For this block, I used templates 20 and 21 and three fabrics; light, medium and dark.  I cut two squares (21) from both the light and the medium.  I cut 8 triangles (20) each of the light and medium, and 12 triangles of the dark.

I highly recommend referring to the finished photo to see the layout.

 

2013-02-03 16.27.09

First I sewed together the little four patch in the center.  On both halves of it, I pressed the seam toward the medium fabric.  This allowed me to nest the seams together when I sewed the last seam together to make the four patch.

Next I chain stitched all the HST units together, pressed the seams toward the darker fabric, and laid them back in place  Next I sewed the medium/dark HSTs together in pairs.

2013-02-03 16.42.27

I decided to start in the middle and work my way out for this one. I sewed one pair of HSTs to either side of the four patch, pressed the seams.

Next, I sewed light triangles to the right and left sides of the top and bottom pairs of HSTs.  This leaves the light/dark triangles that make the corners of the block.  I sewed these to the top and bottom HST assemblies, as well as to the four patch/HST unit.

2013-02-03 16.49.22

This left me with basically three rows, which I sewed together, creating the finished blocks.

Because of all the little seams in this block, I used a combination of pressing to the dark side and pressing the seams open.  This makes it less bulky.

And here we are, all done.  I like the way this block turned out, and I can see how using different colors could make this more subtle or incredibly dramatic.  What’s your take on it?

2013-02-03 16.54.56

