In England and Australia, there is something called Rhyming Slang. Rhyming slang involves replacing a common word with a rhyming phrase of 2 or 3 words, then dropping some of those words.  For example:  “Apples and Pears” = stairs.  To use it in speech, the “and pears” portion would be dropped, and you could end up saying something like, “I’m going up the apples.”  My former husband and his family were from Australia, and my father-in-law excelled at rhyming slang.  I frequently heard him construct whole sentences that made no sense unless you knew about the slang.  For instance, “I wanted to go to town, so I hopped on me Mad Mike, put me plates on the pedals, and away I went.”  Mad Mike = push bike (bicycle). “Plates” is short for “Plates of Meat” = feet.  What I heard most often, though, was “Trouble and Strife.”  Obviously your marriage isn’t going well if your husband refers to you this way! LOL  I kept thinking of that phrase as I was making the Contrary Wife block.  It made me laugh.

For this you simply need templates 1 and 3, and three contrasting fabrics.

2013-02-23 13.33.56

I got on a roll one night and just made block after block after block.  I got so excited about making blocks, I forgot to take pictures of some of them.  This is one of those.  But, it’s pretty straight forward, so I’m sure you can follow along.

Using two contrasting colors, and template #3, make 4 HSTs.  These go in the north, south, east and west positions around the center square.  The four corners are just squares, so nothing fancy there.

With everything all laid out, place the center column of squares on top of the left column, right sides together, and sew the seams.  Then sew the pieces from the right column onto the right side of the center blocks.  For this block, I chose to press the seams on the top row to the left, the center row to the right, and the bottom row to the left.  It’s critical with this block to be able to nest the seams so that the diagonal lines are straight.

And here’s what your finished block should look like.

So, ladies, tell your husbands they should let you buy all the quilting supplies you like.  Because if they don’t, they’re liable to end up with a Contrary Wife!

2013-03-10 19.47.10

