It’s coming up on the end of a long, cold, hard winter in the Midwest.  The cattle have all died due to exposure, and you’ve worked your way through all your canned goods because you were feeding the family from the neighboring farm who lost everything in a tornado.  The snows have finally melted and soon you can start planting.  In fact, tomorrow you can finally go into town and buy more supplies.  But tonight you have to make dinner for 12.  And when you look in the root cellar you realize all you have left are bottled corn and bottled beans.  Not very exciting, but it’s filling.

Well, that’s my take on the origins of this  block name, anyway.  Hey, I’ve got an active imagination.  Unlike a dinner of corn and beans, this block is a little complex.  So follow along closely.  You need three colors for this one: yellow, green, and nondescript background color.

2013-02-23 19.58.12

This block is made entirely of triangles, three different sizes: 3, 13, and 20.  Because there are so many triangles, it’s essential to make sure everything’s in the right place.  The center is a large hourglass made of two greens and two background.  Place the greens on top of the background fabric, right sides together, and then sew along the short side.  Press the seams to the dark side.  Then place the halves of the hourglass on top of each other, nesting the seams.  I put a pin at the seam to hold it in place, then stitched  the seam and pressed it open.  I placed it back in the center and moved onto other things.

2013-02-23 20.06.48

Now that the center “beans” are done, it’s time to turn our attention to the “corn”.  For the first set of corn, they’re laid out as background/corn/background.    Because I knew I would mess this up if I weren’t careful, I did each of the four sides individually.  It’s tedious, but I would stitch a background to a yellow, press the seam open, then press the background color to the other side of the yellow.  I pressed that seam open, then moved onto the next side.  Once these wedge segments were completed, I sewed them to the hourglass.  This left me with an octagonal shape, so I took four green triangles and sewed them to the sides that don’t have any yellow.  take moment to press everything flat.

2013-02-23 20.40.54

The next section is more corn and background wedge shapes, but they’re made up of 5 pieces rather than 3.  I assembled them the same way, then sewed one to each side of the center piece.  This creates another octagon.  Sew a background triangle to each corner, press well and you’re done.

I used Best Press liberally while I was working on this block, and it helped immensely.

2013-03-10 19.47.26

