This has the potential to be a very pretty block, assuming you can PERFECTLY line up all the little triangles.  Which, if you’re me, can be a bit sketchy.  So, I made the block once, using the templates 1, 3, 13, and 20.  Then I made it again, kind of figuring it out as I went.  I’ll show you both.

2013-04-01 19.30.22Kind of hard to see in this photo, but the light #20 triangles are flanked on either side by the #13 dark triangles, with the long sides of the dark triangles lined up along the short sides of the light triangles.  I chain stitched one dark to one light, then pressed the seams and laid the pieces back in place — you know how I lose my place.  Then I chain pieced one dark triangle to the other side of the light triangle.  Another good pressing and we’re ready for the next step.  Which is simply to sew the corner Dark/Light triangles together to make four HSTs.  Press them and place them back in place with the dark pointing inward.

2013-04-01 19.52.00Next, take the 8 flying geese and sew them together in pairs so that the bottom one points to the top one.  Now that all the components are sewn together, it’s a simple matter of sewing the three pieces of each row together, then sew the three rows together, stopping to press the seams as needed

2013-04-01 20.13.38And here’s my finished one, using the templates.  As you can see, I did NOT manage to make everything line up properly.  Looking at it, though, I decided I could make this a different way, and possibly have it look better.  So, without further ado, here are the secondary instructions.

2013-04-02 10.41.15The center light square is 3 3/8″ along each side.  I cut two strips of fabric that were 1 1/4″ x 3 3/8″.  I sewed one strip to the top and bottom of the square.  Then I cut two strips that were 1 1/4″ x 5 7/8″ and sewed them to the sides.  I took the time to press it well.  Now it’s time to snowball the corners.

2013-04-02 11.26.14It’s important to cut 4 squares that measure 2 1/2″ ON THE DIAGONAL.  Sorry, I didn’t think to measure the squares themselves.  Don’t know what I was thinking.  I pressed them in half diagonally so I could use the crease as a guide.  In retrospect, for me, it might have been easier to use a fabric pencil and mark the diagonal that way.  I laid the light square on top of the green, making sure that the crease was directly above the point of the center square.  Using the crease as a guide, I sewed down the crease.  I did this on all four corners.  Then I trimmed away the excess leaving 1/4″ of fabric remaining for the seam.  Over to the ironing board for a quick and thorough pressing, and onto the next step.

2013-04-02 11.53.38Again, I didn’t measure, but I cut more 1 1/4″ strips, sewed one to the top and bottom, then sewed two other strips to the left and right sides.  Then I used template #3 to cut four light triangles.  I centered them on the four sides, sewed them each in place.

2013-04-02 11.49.28Before I pressed them, though, I trimmed off the green points, then pressed the light triangles back.

2013-04-02 11.54.56

So, here are my two blocks.  The top one is my version, the bottom one uses the templates.  Personally, I like my version better.  You tell me.

