I am officially tired of template #13.  I’m also officially NOT a fan of this block.  It started out well enough, but the further I got into it, the worse it got!  I’m going to go out on a limb and say it’s operator error.  Needless to say, I’ll be doing this one again.  But, for now, he’s my version.  I recommend using the dreaded template #13.

IMG_0240Looking at all those light/dark HSTs, I decided to do a strip method to make them.  So I measured the height of the triangle, which is 1 3/8″.  I added 1/8″ and cut two WoF strips 1 1/2″ wide, one of light and one of dark. (I did try it with the strips measuring 1 3/8″ wide, but my HSTs were too small) With right sides together, I sewed down each side.  Then I used a 4 1/2″ square ruler, lined the diagonal line up with the top line of stitching.  Then I made a diagonal cut.  I shifted the ruler to the bottom line of stitching, the corner of the ruler on the edge of the fabric, and made another diagonal cut.  I continued this until I had the 24 required HSTs.  Best Press was my Best Friend while I was pressing these.  I pressed toward the dark.  In retrospect, I wish I’d pressed the seams open.

IMG_0241Once all the HSTs were sewn, I sewed them together in pairs, with the dark triangles pointing to the upper left.  It’s important to make sure ALL the HSTs are sewn together in the same direction.  It’s easy to get mixed up if you’re not careful.  Yes, I’m speaking from experience; why do you ask?  When pressing these 12 pairs open, I pressed half of them one direction and half of them the other direction.  I did this so I could nest the seams when sewing the pairs together into four patches.  Again, in retrospect, I think pressing them open would have been better.  Once I had the four patches sewn together, it was time to lay out the block.

IMG_0243The top row is a square then 2 four patches.  The middle row is a four patch, a square, and a four patch.  The bottom row is two four patches and a square.  Use pins to match up the seams as you sew each row together, and then sew the rows together to complete the block.

 

IMG_0246 As you can see, I ended up with the most skeewampus block you could have imagined!!!

Needless to say, I’ll be making this again.

(sigh)

