A few years ago I was privileged to spend a long weekend in central Utah with a group of talented and enthusiastic photographers, all of whom are amazingly gifted.  We were up in the mountains at an old CCC camp.  The food was phenomenal, the company was unbeatable.  That weekend was a turning point for me with my photography.  It helped me see things I want to do, gave me the courage to step outside my comfort zone.  On our last night there, several of the photogs set up their cameras on long exposures to take pictures of the night sky.  One of the photographers got lucky in not one but two of her shots with a gorgeous shooting star going all the way across the image.  She was the envy of the rest of us.

This block was fun to make, and the large center is a great opportunity for a fussy cut.  Of course, I didn’t think about that until after it was all made.  Oh well.

IMG_0446Now, if you’re making these blocks by the book, you know that you need template #12, which is a nice, big triangle.  I looked all through all my templates, all my scraps, everywhere I could think.  No template #12.  I was going to give up and move onto a different block, when I thought, “I’m a smart girl.  I bet I can figure this out.”  So I looked at the other components.  The center is a 3 1/2″ square, which meant my side pieces needed to be 3 1/2″ long.  The corner squares were 2″, which meant that’s how wide my strips needed to be.  The next part took a little thinking: I placed the small triangle onto the strip, using the little angle cuts on the corners of the triangle to line them up on the edges of the strip.  Then I sewed along the long edge of the triangle.  I trimmed away the excess background fabric, pressed it flat, then repeated on the other side.  By the time I was done, I had four flying geese.

 

IMG_0448I took one flying goose and attached two of the background squares to it, one to each end.  I repeated this for a second flying goose.  The other two flying geese were sewn to opposite sides of the center square.  This created three strips that just needed to be sewn together, taking care to match the seams.  Give it a good press and you’ve made a star!

 

 

 

IMG_0449I am happy with how this turned out, despite missing a template.  If I were to do it again, though, I would definitely use a different fabric for the center.

