I went to  grade school in a small, rural, Southern community.  And it was there that I met my first heart-sister. Becky.  We were definitely “Kindred Spirits”, as Anne Shirley is fond of saying.  We spent every recess we could playing in the tall sour grass, planning out the stables we were going to build for the horses we were going to raise and breed and race when we grew up.  And every weekend that our mother’s agreed to I would spend with her.  On her father’s farm.  Mr. Gordon raised cattle, alfalfa, and cotton on 300+ acres of beautiful Georgia landscape.  They had two quarter horses:  Della Mayer and Little Britches.  They were both wonderful, sweet-tempered horses, but Britches was a sweetheart.  I learned to ride on his back.  The last time I saw him, Becky and I went to visit her parents and took Britches an apple or two.  He was at least 30 by then, and he lived several more years after that.  I was jealous of Becky, growing up on a farm with horses and all that openness.  Life took us in different directions, and our dreams to raise horses remain just that: dreams.  But despite living on opposite sides of the country, and not having lived in the same state since 1976, she remains my heart-sister.

The Farmer’s Daughter block uses just two templates — 34 and 38 — but it uses three fabrics.  I chose to use a fourth, complimentary fabric for the very center.  Here’s how I did it:

IMG_0453After I got it all laid out, I decided the place to start would be with the light/dark HSTs,  There are 8 of them.  I chain pieced them all, then pressed the seam to the dark side.  After I laid them back in place, I looked it over to see what would work best.  And, essentially, it’s just a bunch of squares.  So, starting from the left, I laid columns 2 and 4 on top of columns 1 and 3.  I chain pieced column 1-2 and pressed the seams before I moved onto column 3-4, so that I wouldn’t mix up what went where.  When that was done, I repeated the process, laying column 3-4 on top of column 1-2 and sewed them together, then sewed the last piece to each row, creating 5 rows.

 

 

IMG_0456

I want to talk about pressing the seams on this.  I pressed the seams on rows 1, 3 and 5 to the right, and pressed the seams on rows 2 and 4 to the left.  When it was time to start sewing the rows together, the seams nested together beautifully, which meant all the points matched up perfectly.  I recommend doing this, and using pins to hold the seams in place.

 

 

 

IMG_0458

This block has special meaning to me.  I used two fabrics from my mother’s stash that I inherited, and it reminds me of my dear, life-long, heart-sister of a friend, and all the wonderful adventures we shared as children.

