“True friends stab you in the front.”  Oscar Wilde.

At first blush, this is an odd quote.  But Oscar Wilde had a dry, genius wit, which few truly understood.  And humor is an essential component of friendship.  Friends, true friends, cry with you, get into trouble with you, bail you out of trouble if necessary.  And when you’re feeling at your lowest point, they’ll talk with you, comfort you, and find a way to make you laugh so that you can start to feel better about yourself and about life.  I have a friend named Shell who has bailed me out of some amazingly disturbing situations.  She has been around at some of the most embarrassing points of my life.  She has no problem teasing me mercilessly.  Today, when I spoke to her on the phone, I could tell she was feeling down.  Today, it was my turn to tell her stupid stories about my life, reminding her of some of the stupid things she’s done, until she started laughing.  She’s got a loud, raucous laugh that comes from the center of her soul.  I love it!  And when we help our friends, it’s a mitzvah.  A true blessing.  I love Shell, and I’m grateful for all the times she’s made me laugh, and I’m looking forward to returning the favor.

Sometimes, on the surface, friendship can seem complicated, complex, have multiple layers.  But when you stand back and look at it, you realize a true friendship is made of many layers, all woven together in an intricate pattern, becoming something beautiful.  Kind f like the Friendship Block.

This block looked really complex.  And, honestly, when I laid it out, it seemed even more complex.  But once completed, it wasn’t all that bad.

This block uses two fabrics, a dark and a light.  And that center square just begs for a fussy cut.  You’ll need templates #4, #7, #27, #28, and #103.

From the dark fabric, cut eight #7 and one #103.  From the light fabric, cut four #4, two #27, and two #28.

2013-06-18 19.43.45When I laid it all out, I knew I was doing something wrong, but I also knew I’d figure it out eventually, and that the best way to assemble the block would be to start from the center and work my way out.

 

 

 

2013-06-18 19.47.37I started by sewing #28 to either side of the center square.  Once again, I pressed the seams open.  This seems to be working best for me.  Then I sewed #27 to the opposite sides of the center square, effectively  circling the square.

 

 

2013-06-18 19.54.47Now it was time to tackle the triangles (#7) and the small light squares (#4).  I had to refer to the picture in the book (page #167), and suddenly realized I had laid my small #4 squares in the wrong spots.  No wonder it didn’t make sense to me!  When I was trying to figure out how to explain this, I came up with this idea:  working clockwise around the square, number the sides 1 – 4.  Attach a #7 triangle to side one, then attach another #7 triangle to side two.  This creates a triangle.

 

2013-06-18 19.57.14The next thing to do is to attach two triangle units to opposite sides of center block.  When I did this, I held off pressing until both “wings” were sewn in place.  This helped me keep them centered, as I was able to line up the points in the center.

Once this was done, I sewed on the other two wings and pressed.

 

2013-06-18 20.00.41Here’s my finished Friendship Block.  Complex and Simple.  And a whimsical fussy cut to make me laugh.

