“Don’t walk behind me, I may not lead.  Don’t walk in front of me, I may not follow.  Just walk beside me and be my friend.”  Albert Camus

This is how I have felt about the amazing Farmer’s Granddaughter QAL group on the MSQC forum the last couple of months.  You have all waited with me as I sat on the side of the road trying to figure out what to do next.  I would not have been surprised if every one of you jumped ship.  And I couldn’t have blamed you.  Many of you sent me messages of comfort and encouragement, and some of you even offered to take over and keep us plodding along until I could step back in.  I can’t begin to tell you how wonderful that makes me feel.  I cannot thank you enough.

Friendship is very important to me.  When I was growing up, irst in Georgia, then in Utah, I didn’t have a lot of friends.  When I hit high school, I was fortunate to meet some crazy people who, 30 years later, are still my friends.  I got over being shy.  Now I have a whole herd of friends, each of whom is important to me for different reasons.  And, thanks to the internet, I have an even bigger herd of virtual friends.  And once I got over being shy, I discovered it was easy to find new friends.  Almost as easy as this first of three Friendship blocks.

 

For Friendship, on page 166, you need a total of 5 colors.  I used a variation of primary colors:  Red, Yellow Ochre, Blue Periwinkle, and a nice variegated Green.  I also used a very light cream.  It uses templates # 7, #8, and #45.

2013-06-18 19.27.11From each of the four primary colors, cut one #7 and one #8.  Cut four of your neutral color.  Lay it out with the four #7 triangles in the center, points touching, the #45 in a square around the small triangles, and then the #8 triangles on the other side of the #45s.  I decided to lay the #45s on top of the #8s, then chain stitched them together.  I decided to press the seams open on this block and it really cut down on the bulk where all the seams met up.

 

2013-06-18 19.31.16When I had these done, I realized they looked like little sail boats.  Oh, the possibilities!

Next, I attached the small triangles to the other side of the #45, making sure the colors matched (red to red, blue to blue, etc.)

 

 

After that, it was a simple matter of laying right on top of left, chain stitching, pressing, then laying top onto bottom, repeat.  When you do this, though, it’s not a bad idea to pin where the seams meet.  It helps.

2013-06-18 19.41.07

 

 

And that, Dear Friends, is how you make Friendship!  Couldn’t be simpler!

