My mother was the quintessential homemaker.  Seriously, her house ALWAYS looked like she’d just finished prepping it for a photo spread in the latest issue of Home and Garden.  No dust, no clutter, no muss, no fuss.  Ever.  I don’t know about you, but at my house, after Christmas, I’m scrambling to find homes for all the new things.  My mother’s house seemed to just absorb them.  I don’t know where everything went.  I still don’t.  She took something very complex and made it seem so simple.

This block looks pretty complex, and I was hoping, like my mom’s amazing Domestic Goddess skills, would be simple to assemble.  I’m sorry to tell you that’s not the case.  It’s a tricky block, no way around it, and I’m hoping you’ll be able to follow along.  I’m also hoping one of you has an easier construction method you’re willing to share.

The block uses templates 1, 53, 54, 55, and 55R.  It uses three fabrics.  Ready?  Let’s see if we can make this work.

2013-06-25 21.34.28Template #1 is a nice-sized square and lends itself well to either a fun fabric or a fussy cut.  I chose fun over fussy this time.  Use a contrasting fabric for the #54 triangles that flank the four sides of the center square.   Next are lighter diamonds.  We’re going to start with these.  Place #55 along the left side of each #53 diamond and stitch and press.  Then repeat the process with #55R along the right side of each #53 diamond.  I strongly recommend pressing the seams open on these, since things get tricky quickly and having as little bulk on the back as possible helps, in my opinion.

2013-06-25 21.48.40This is one of the few blocks in the book that has instructions.  I’ll be honest, though, the instructions aren’t very clear, at least not to me, and I realize now I didn’t follow them the way I was supposed to.  Since I’ve figured out what I did wrong, I’m going to give you the CORRECT instructions.  The instructions say to lay the #54 triangle on top of the corner unit to the left of it, and sew it in place.  I did this to all four corner units, and laid them back in place in a circle around the center square.

 

2013-06-25 21.56.05Working your way around the block, sew the #54 triangles to each of the four sides of the center block.  You’ll have little wings, but just push them out of the way.  Once this is done, sew one wing to the unattached side of the #54 triangle.  Work your way around the block.  This should give you nice, crisp corners around the block.

 

2013-06-25 22.11.10Since I didn’t quite figure that out, my corners aren’t as crisp as I would like them to be.  Also, probably because I didn’t do it right, I needed a lot of Best Press to make it lay flat.  I may be taking this apart and putting it back together.  Or making another one.

One thing for sure, I do like the way this block looks!

