Here’s another Paper Piecing tutorial from Musical Starling.  Can’t wait to give this a try!

 

So, on to our next block, Garden Path.  I know, I’m going a little out of order here, but you have to learn to walk before you can run, right?

 

Now, be warned.  This block is not for the faint of heart!  It does give you perfect points using this method, but I’m not promising you it will be easy!  There’s also an inset seam in this block (at least there is with my construction method, I couldn’t figure out how to avoid it) so you have been warned!  I don’t mean that you should be afraid, it is not that bad once you get the hang of it, but it was because of this block that I wanted to do another easier block to make sure you got the hang of paper piecing because this one is a little tricky.

 

So with the warning out of the way, let’s get to it!  First, this pattern is in multiple pieces, so your first step is figuring out where they all go!

GP 01

I laid mine out so my center square pieces were together, then the outer border, then the four outside corners.  16 pieces in all!  This is when it’s really helpful to have your book nearby so you can keep it all straight.  Trim your pieces just outside the 1/4” dashed seam allowance line so they’re easier to handle.  You can trim them to the seam line if you wish, I usually do that toward the end when I’m sewing pieces together.

 

GP 02 GP 03

 

Just as we did before, place your fabrics right sides together, wrong side of fabric 1 to the wrong side of your paper, and sew along that first seam line (that separates 1 and 2).

 

GP 04

 

Trim your seam allowance and press open, then sew on your next piece.  Fill in all of your pieces as we did before with Gentleman’s Fancy.  I missed a picture in between these two steps, but it works the same.

 

GP 05 GP 06

 

Once your two centre pieces have been filled in, put them together so your seams are matching and sew together along the seam line on one of the pieces.  If you’re really good with your 1/4” seams you can remove the paper before doing this, but I prefer to leave them in place so I can follow the line to be sure.

 

GP 07

 

I press this seam open, to reduce bulk, but you can press it to a side if you wish.  I usually remove the paper that will be hidden by this seam before I press just so I’m not digging for it later. Don’t forget to trim your piece along your dashed 1/4″ seam line as well.

 

GP 08

 

Your next two pieces to complete this center block are just like your normal templates, so cut them to size and add them to the sides.  I find it works to line up the top of your triangle (seen toward the center of the above photo) with that center seam and keep your outside edges together.  Then sew along that outside edge and press open again, removing the bits of paper in the seam.  At this point you can remove all of the paper or you can keep it in place until you are finished, totally a personal preference.  I like to remove it as I’m going.

 

GP 09

 

The four outside borders are much the same as the last two triangles, they are just the templates from the book, so sew them with the shortest side centered along one side of the block.  Don’t run off the edge this time, stop where the line stops before you hit the seam allowance.  Why?  Because here come the inset seams!

 

GP 10 GP 11

 

Just as you would do mitered borders, fold your fabric in half diagonally and butt those two edges together.  This is much easier to get folded properly if you stopped before your 1/4” seam allowance.  Now sew from where you stopped (if you’re using white thread like me then it’s a little easier to find that point) and sew right to the end.  It’s not that scary, right?  Then when you open it should look like this:

 

GP 12

 

How cute is this little block?  I want to pinch its cheeks!  Well… If it had cheeks…

So now we add the outside corners!  For each corner, you will have two pieces that look like this:

 

GP 13

 

So you place them together so they look like either of the two examples below (it’s the same positioning, just one has the triangle on top and the other has the angled strip on top.  Six of one and half a dozen of the other as my mother would say).

 

GP 14 GP 15

 

Then, tear out the paper from that seam allowance again (I managed to capture a picture this time!) and press that seam open.

 

GP 16 GP 17

 

What a cute little corner!  Now we add it to our block using the tip of the triangle to help us center it again.

 

GP 18

 

Sew along that outside edge, and repeat for all four corners.  Here’s what mine looked like with two, it actually looks cute with just two, and after all that work I really did debate whether it really needed four corners because they were a LOT of work!  But, we’re making blocks and not funny-shaped-whatchamacallits so I figured I had to carry on…

 

GP 19

 

And once all four corners are in place and your paper is removed, you’re done!  And now you have two pretty little blocks that look like these:

 

Finished

 

Yay!  Super cute!  So now that you’ve seen two paper pieced blocks, from the simple to the complicated, I hope I didn’t scare you off and you’ll stay tuned for the next two.  They’re easier than Garden Party, I promise!  But look at those perfect little triangles, you can’t stay mad with progress like that, right?

 

Thanks for having me Meli!  I can’t wait to show you the next two blocks, that is if I haven’t scared everyone off!

