It has been a LONG time since I sat at my sewing machine.  So long, in fact, that I forgot how long it takes to make just two blocks.  Well, truth be told, a big part of that time is just figuring out which fabrics to use, and remembering how to make these beautiful little quilt blocks.

I started with the Jackknife.  In retrospect, I think I need to go back and do the honey blocks.  We’ll get to those next week.

Jackknife sees the return of our favorite template, #13.  I always groan a little when I see that one.  Fortunately, there aren’t too many of them in this block.

2013-10-06 15.00.33  I forgot to take a picture of it all laid out before I started sewing.  I was too excited to get going!  To get started, I chain pieced EVERYTHING!  I laid a #13 light over a #50 dark, then a #50 light over a #13 dark.  This combination creates the two halves of the corner pieces.  Once I did the corners, I worked my way around the other four outer pieces, laying the #20 dark over a #20 light.

With everything chain pieced, I cut them apart and pressed toward the darker fabric.  Then I went back around and sewed the two halves of each piece together, being careful to match the seams.

2013-10-06 15.05.28Now it’s time to sew the three rows together.  Be careful and make sure the corner pieces are arranged with the dark #13 toward the center.  When pressing these, I recommend pressing the seams of the top and bottom row inward and the seams of the center row outward.  Or vice versa.  The idea is to have the seams going opposite directions so they nest well together.  I did not do that, and it got a little touchy to match them up properly.  And it creates a lot of unnecessary bulk.  Of course, if you don’t do it, it’s not the end of the world.

2013-10-06 15.08.49For my first time back after months of not even going near my sewing machine, I think it’s not too bad.  It’s not perfect, but I’m ok with it.  Still need to square it up, but that’s easily done.

