It is late October here in Utah and the weather is being surprisingly mild.  The sky is that clear, endless blue that just goes on and on without interruption.  The trees are brilliant with colors ranging from green to red to orange to gold and all points in between.  My favorite tree, the flowering plum, has all of those colors and even adds purple to the mix.  It’s like all the colors of fall all rolled into one.

Because of that, I decided last night to make the leaves blocks:  Maple Leaf and Ozark Maple.  They’re both out of sequence, but I just couldn’t help myself!

Maple Leaf uses two colors, light and dark, and templates 1, 3, 7, and 52.  It went together in minutes.  No, seriously, I was done in under 20.  Amazing!

Taking advantage of my latest epiphany, I laid the two fabrics right sides together to do all my cutting.  Wish I’d thought to take a picture of that, but I didn’t.  Sorry.

 

2013-10-26 00.37.57I didn’t lay out all the pieces before I started.  Instead, I started by sewing the HSTs together to form the points of the maple leaf.  You should end up with 4 of them.

Next I sewed the small triangles to either side of template #52.  with all the components of each row assembled, I started sewing the rows together.

At each point along the way, I pressed the seams open.  Not sure why, but it seems to be helping me matching things up better and have the blocks lie flat when I’m done.

2013-10-26 00.43.39I laid the middle pieces face down on top of the left pieces and chain stitched.  Once the seams were pressed, I laid the right pieces face down on the left unit and chain stitched and pressed.

I used short pins to keep the seams matched up as I sewed the top to the center row, and then the bottom row to the center row.

 

 

 

2013-10-26 00.48.53The finished block looks great, if I do say so myself.  I think I might use this as a basis for an autumnal table runner, and make the leaves all different colors.  Kind of like that flowering plum.

