Leaves of a feather fall together.  Or something like that.  When I did the Maple Leaf block, I knew I had to do this one as well.  They just … well…  They belong together.  What quilting has joined together…

Ok, I’ll stop now.

This block looked pretty complex to me, especially when I had it all laid out.  Fortunately, that was a misconception and it took me less than 30 minutes to assemble.

Like the Maple Leaf block, it utilizes light and dark fabrics.  Templates 11, 13, 25, and 65 are the templates used.  I don’t know about you, but my template for that little #13 triangle is getting pretty grubby looking.  Probably because it gets used more than any other template in the quilt!  For this block, cut two of each template from each color, except for #13.  Cut four from each color.  (See?  It gets used the most)

2013-10-26 01.04.35Once I had it all laid out, I seriously had to take a few minutes to plan my attack, because it just looked like a jumbled mess to me.  I started by attaching the contrasting wings to the #65 pieces.  I chain stitched all four, then “pulled a Jenny” and just flipped it around so I could attach the other wing to the other side.  What a time saver!  I’ll have to do that more often.  Then it was over to the ironing board to press the seams open.

 

 

2013-10-26 11.59.31Here’s an example of the #65 template with the wings attached.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2013-10-26 12.03.58Next up, attach a #25 rectangle (these are the smaller ones) to right side of your newly formed square, making sure the center diagonal runs from top left to bottom right.  I chain stitched and pressed open the seams.  Next, which should be the easy part, sew the long rectangle to the bottom of the unit.  The two rectangles and the diagonal piece should all be the same color.

 

 

2013-10-26 12.08.37

 

 

 

Your finished pieces should look like this

 

 

 

2013-10-26 12.08.55

 

 

 

 

Not like this.  If they do look like this, simply remove the #11 rectangle and move it to the opposite side.  Quick and easy, if annoying, fix.

 

2013-10-26 12.17.52Once the leaves are properly assembled, you should have 4 corner pieces.  I placed the light corner pieces on top of the dark ones and chain stitched, then pressed open the seams.

Here’s the best part about this block: for as complex as it looks, there’s only ONE seam that needs to be matched up, and that’s the one running down the center.  Lay the top half face down on the bottom half, making sure the points of the leaves are all pointing to the middle, and pin the seam to hold it in place while you sew it together.

2013-10-26 12.20.20It’s not until the block is completely finished that you see the full effect of the leaves.  And I suspect sewing multiples of these blocks together would make a great tessellation, which is where the pattern is repeated in the negative space.

Hmm… I’m starting to get an inspiration, using multiple colors of fabric and ending up with a rainbow of falling leaves.  This requires further thought.

