When I was 17, my mom piled me, my two brother, and the bottomless cooler (she could feed a family of four epic meals for days on end without restocking) into our VW Rabbit and took us on an epic road trip from Utah to Vancouver, BC, down the coast to Cottage Grove, OR (where we had lived when I was little) and eventually home.  We were gone for two weeks.  The day after we started the trip, I came down with the flu.  It reached its apex about the time we got to Vancouver and Victoria, and while my family was out exploring the wonders and beauty of that part of Canada, I was trapped in the hotel room, wishing I were dead.  I missed Victoria completely, but out last day in Vancouver, mom dragged me along as we went to Butchart Gardens.  If you’ve never been, I strongly encourage you to make the effort.  It is, quite truly, a thing of beauty.  I was more than exhausted by the time we were done, but the memories of wandering down the garden paths, surrounded by the art of horticulture on all sides, has stayed with me for over 30 years.

This Garden Path isn’t quite as beautiful as Butchart Gardens, but it is lovely in its own right, and the geometric designs make it look more intricate than it really is.

2013-05-09 21.26.03Starting at the top, I sewed together the two Light/Dark #13 HSTs, then I attached a Light#13 to the Dark side of the HSTs, like little wings.  I then sewed these units to either side of the Dark #25.

For the second row, I attached two Dark #13s to either side of the Light #20, making a flying geese unit.  I then attached a Light #13 to either side of the unit.

Using enough pins to keep the pins matched up, sew the two rows together.  It goes without saying that all the seams get pressed – either open or to he dark side – before moving onto the next step.  When the two rows are sewn together, attach the 20 to the bottom, completing a triangle.  Repeat this for the bottom.

 

2013-05-09 22.08.50I used a chain stitch method to sew a Light #13 to two adjoining sides of a Dark #19 square creating a small triangle.  You should end up with 4 of them.  Attach one #44 contrasting strip to the long edge of each small triangle.  After the seams are pressed, attach one small triangle unit to either side of the top and bottom triangle units, creating two halves of the block.

Match up the seams of the two halves and sew them together, press the seams, then press the entire block flat.

 

 

2013-05-09 22.12.49And that is how you make your Flower Garden Path, full of intricacies and beauty.  When I made mine, I used colors similar to what was used in the example: yellow, orange and green.  I think if I were do it again, I’d use spring-like colors rather than autumnal colors.  I like the way the pattern lays out when it’s all put together.  Imagine an entire quilt made out of this block!  There would be dark squares surrounded by light triangles sashed with a contrasting color.  It could be pretty striking!

