One of my favorite things to do is watch a flock of birds fly in formation.  I’m fascinated by how they can do that.  How do they communicate with each other?  How do they know when to turn and which direction to go.  Sometimes there are a few stragglers that don’t get the memo and head off in a different direction for a moment, then struggle to catch up.  I recently saw a time lapse video showing the flight patterns of starlings.  On one hand, it was really cool.  On the other hand, it gave me flashbacks to watching “The Birds” when I was a child.  Gave me nightmares for weeks and left a lasting impression.  For instance, as much as I love watching birds in flight, things like pet budgies and parrots give me the heebee-geebees.  Yeah, I know.  I’m weird.

2013-10-28 22.39.23This block uses two contrasting colors and templates 4, 7, and 8.  It’s a fairly simple layout, but it’s sometimes those simple ones that throw me off!  Take a minute to lay it out and make sure everything is where it’s supposed to be, and that you like the fabrics you’re using.

The easy way to assemble this bloc is to sew all the HSTs together.  Then, starting in the top right corner, sew the #4 square to the HST and attach the #7 light to the left end.  Repeat the process for row 2 (HST, Square, HST, Triangle)  Sew these two rows together and then sew the #8 triangle to the angled end.  Repeat this for the bottom half of the block, then sew the two halves together.  Wish I’d thought of that before I sewed it together.  You, Dear Quiltie, are free, of course, to implement whichever method you like best.  But for now, sit back, relax, and watch how I took something really simple and made it really complicated.

2013-10-28 22.42.28

Starting in the top left and working on angle, I sewed four #7 triangles together, alternating light and dark, forming a zigzag.  I repeated this in the lower right corner.  Then I sewed the #8 triangle to the zigzag.

Starting in the top right corner and working down through the center, I sewed a #7 to the #4 square.  On the next row, I sewed together the right HST, then attached the #8 square to the #7 triangle, and sewed this unit to the HST.  On the 3rd row, starting on the left side,  I sewed the HST,  sewed the #4 square to the #7 triangle and attached this to the HST.  On the fourth row, I sewed the #4 square to the #7 triangle.  Then, taking care to match the seams, I sewed rows 1, 2, 3, and 4 of the center section together, forming a nice diagonal Jacob’s Ladder sort of piece down the center of the block.

2013-10-28 23.04.45From there, it was very simple to attach the corner zigzag units to the sides.

Hopefully you found an easier, less confusing method to assemble your Hovering Birds.  Regardless of the flight path you take, it should produce a stunning block with nicely matched points.

 

 

 

HOVERING HAWKS #52

The Hovering Hawks block is virtually identical to Hovering Birds, except the #8 triangle is replaced with a #7 triangle and a #58 wedge.  Sew the #58 Wedge to the #7 corner triangles to form the corner triangle units.  Here are the pictures that show the progression.

2013-10-28 23.48.28 2013-10-28 23.51.55 2013-10-29 00.00.15 2013-10-29 00.03.10

