My parents are remodeling the kitchen in their post WWII cottage.  Due to extenuating circumstances, they can’t just rip the whole thing out and tackle it at once, which is what it needs.  Instead, they have to do it in pieces.  Right now, they’re working on the floor.  Mom, at some point, had installed some very pretty peel-n-stick tiles.  They were holding up pretty well, actually, except in one area where they were turning yellow.  And since the long-term plan is to have a 1950s retro vibe, the flooring had to go.  That, and the whole floor was so out of level it wasn’t even funny.  When they pulled up the subfloor, they discovered two things:  (1) it was on top of a second subfloor, and (2) the original 1950s linoleum.  It was actually pretty cool, and dad wished it were salvageable, but it wasn’t.  It was gray with pinks and greens and blues and the occasional sparkly bit.  Once the floor is all level, dad’s going to install a sage/apple green lino.  I don’t really like it, but it’s not my house!  In the end, I’m sure it will look great.

Just for fun, I did some quick research on linoleum.  It is actually a pretty “green” product, made with naturally occurring, renewable resources.  Like linseed oil, pine resin, and ground cork dust.  While not as striking as something like marble or granite, you don’t have to dig big holes in the ground to get it.  Personally, I think I’d rather have bamboo flooring (also green, also renewable), because I like the way it feels on my feet.  But I digress.

My nephew Adam helped me pick the fabrics for this block, and helped me with the layout.  Honestly, it looked fabulous all laid out, and I couldn’t wait to get started.  The fabrics were all so bright and cheerful!  Here’s what happened next.

2013-10-29 20.52.38I started by sewing two #13 triangles to either side of the #65 diamonds.  This resulted in a square corner piece.  I chain stitched all on one side, then flipped them around and did the other side at the same time.  Made sipping them apart a little exciting, but it turned out fine in the end.

 

 

 

 

2013-10-29 20.55.05The center piece along each side is made of two contrasting #25 rectangles sewn together along the long side.  Once those were stitched, I had three piles of block bits to play with:

(1) The Center #1 square

(2)  The Corner Units

(3)  The #25 Rectangle squares

 

At this point, assembly was a breeze.  Making sure the bottom point of the corner unit pointed toward the inside, I sewed 2 corner units to one #25 Rectangle Square unit (running horizontally).  This was for the top and bottom rows.  For the center, I sewed two #25 Rectangle Squares (running vertically) to the center square.  From there, it was easy as pie to match the seams and sew the three rows together.

The problem was, I didn’t like the way it looked.  So I took the same fabrics and did some rearranging.  When I was done, I took both blocks to show my husband and my nephew.  The difference between the two was so striking, they both thought I was showing them two different patterns!  And we all agreed the 2nd block was much better.  Here there are, side by side.  Which one do you like best?

2013-10-29 21.44.43

The one on the left is the one I did first.

The one on the right is the one I like best.

