Last July, I had surgery to repair a torn Achilles tendon.  My sweet, former Army Medic husband came up with this GREAT plan to save money.  It went something like this:

“You should buy me a 12″, dual bevel, laser guided, radial arm compound miter saw.  They have one on sale at Harbor Freight.  Then what we’ll do is lay you face down on the kitchen island, use the saw for the fine cuts.  I’ve got sutures in my army medic bag that I can use, then we’ll use a cordless drill and grabber screws to secure your tendon.  Once you’re all stitched up, I’ll use duct tape to hold everything in place.”

At my pre-op appointment, we ran this past my surgeon.  I thought he’d e mildly amused.  He leaned back, thought about it for a minute, then started giving Jim pointers.  “You’ll need to use a fine toothed saw blade, and there’s going to be a lot of blood, so you’ll want to get that cleaned up right away so it doesn’t ruin your saw.  But other than that, it sounds like a great plan.”  Really?!?

I’m happy to report we went the conventional method and my foot has healed up nicely.  No saws of any kind were used in the repair of my foot.  But at least I got a fun story out of the deal.

 

2014-02-03 21.27.29This block is all about triangles.  Big ones, little ones, and in between ones.

There are 9 HST units made from our favorite #13.  Sew together light and dark until you have all 9.  You will have 2 #13 darks leftover.  When it comes to pressing these HSTs, I’ve found that pressing the seams open, rather than to one side or the other, helps prevent distortion of the unit itself.

 

 

 

 

2014-02-03 21.39.57Be sure to lay these out in the correct alignment before you start sewing them together.  They should all end up with the dark pointing to the upper left, but if you’re like me, you’ll sew them all together in pairs, then in strips, all exactly the same way, and then wonder why some of them are wonky.  Sew the leftover #13 dark triangles to the ends of the HST strips.

 

 

 

2014-02-05 22.46.48One of your HST strips should have 4 HST units, the other should have 5.  Start with the shorter one and sew it to one side of the light #14 triangle.  Once you’ve pressed the seam, sew the longer HST unit strip to the other side, taking care to match the seam where the two strips meet.  Press well.

Next, sew the #71 dark triangle to the piece you’ve just been working on.  The #71 is literally half the block.  Press the seam and then give the entire block a really good pressing.  And this is how you get a sawtooth block.

NOTE:  This block should be used for quilting applications only.  It is not recommended for medical use.

