Out here in The West (I live in Utah), square dancing can be a big deal.  The men get to wear jeans,  boots, and button down shirts, generally in a solid color that matches their partner’s getup.  The women, on the other hand, wear bright blouses with coordinating skirts that are almost horizontal because of all the ruffled petticoats underneath!  Added to this are stockings and sensible heels.  I’ve always thought square dancers looked like they were having a good time, but it’s never something I wanted to do.  All those ruffles and the stockings don’t look comfortable at all.  And I learned LONG ago that I do much better in flats than in heels.  This was proved by the countless twisted ankles that are bound to happen anytime I slip into something less comfortable than my TEVA sandals!

2014-02-08 15.00.20 Like square dancing, this block can be a lot of fun.  The fabrics used can give a lot of movement to the block.  Here’s how I made mine.

The center of the block is so big it’s a great place for a fussy cut.  In this case, I used a charm square I had.  Working my way around the block, I sewed the #89 and #89R to either side of the #20 triangles.  After pressing the seams flat, I sewed two #19 squares to either side of the top and bottom rows.

 

 

 

2014-02-08 15.13.48Next, I sewed the left and right rows to the sides of the center block.  Do it carefully so that the points of the triangles hit the block neatly.  I pressed the seams open

Using pins to help me match the seams, I then sewed the top and bottom rows to the center.

 

And that’s it!  I don’t have a picture of the center block for some reason.  But, grab your fabrics, bow to your machine, and sew your block, do-si-do.

