This is the first block I ever made from this book.  I was making a southwest quilt for my best friend’s 20th wedding anniversary, and when I saw this block, I knew it would be perfect for the cornerstones.  And it was!COLORES cornerstones

Here are the cornerstones I made, using the leftover fabric from the main blocks of the quilt.

 

 

 

COLORES CornerstoneHere is one of the cornerstones set into the quilt.

 

 

 

COLORES FRONT (2) (800x533)And here’s the finished quilt.  In retrospect, I wish I’d made a few more of them and scattered them around the border.  But this was only my 3rd quilt and adding the four cornerstones was adventuresome enough!

 

 

 

 

 

2014-02-08 21.45.44This is kind of an intricate block.  The trickiest part is making sure all the points are centered.

Starting from the outside row, sew the #90 and #90R pieces to either side of the #20 triangle.  Repeat this for row #6.  For row 2, sew the #89 and #89R pieces to either side of the #49 piece.  Repeat this for row 5.

For rows 3 and 4, sew the #91 and #91R to either side of the #20 center triangles.  Then sew the #13 triangles to the ends of the #91 and #91R pieces.

For this block, I found it easier to press all the seams open, as it cut down on the bulk.

 

 

 

2014-02-08 22.06.03Place rows 3 and 4 right sides together.  I found it easiest to match up the seams and hold them in place with pins.  This is the tricky part, because all those points have to mesh.

After that, just work your way out, matching the center of each row to the center of the next, and match the seams carefully.

 

 

 

 

2014-02-08 22.26.46I think what I like best about this block is that it is so completely different from any other block in the quilt.  Play around with the colors, see how striking you can make yours.

 

